Warmth

I can’t believe we’re already two weeks into May… and almost halfway through the year!

There’s been a heat wave all of this week which makes it difficult to want to do a thing. I live in an area where air conditioning is not the norm in homes, soย  all the fans are on. I miss cold weather!

It’s been too hot to work on my blanket during the day so I wait until evening when the sun has set and I can open the living room window to let a breeze in while we watch a show or two. I finally bought some more colors to replenish the ones that are starting to turn into little yarn blobs. I’m hoping it will be enough…

 

I haven’t taken any pictures of my art yet to make into prints (we need to acquire better lighting and perhaps borrow a nicer camera from a friend), but I’ve still been working on some drawings. A while ago I bought a whole bunch of crayons after watching some Youtube videos of some very talented artists using them. I don’t think I’ve touched a crayon since I was a kid, but watching Youtubers using them for their art seemed like a lot of fun (and colorful!).

This is the picture I’m most proud of, Sailor V. I’m still learning how to blend colors without getting the picture too waxy from the crayons, and every picture I do I seem to improve.

I love the colorful aftermath of using them. I had to snap a picture of it before I cleaned up. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve also been doing more digital art, which doesn’t come easily to me. I am not the most technologically advanced person, and sitting down and figuring out what all of the buttons do is a true test of my patience… but now that I understand the basics of what I’m doing I am loving the result. I’ll post the drawings at a later date once I’ve done the finishing touches on them. ๐Ÿ™‚

Is anyone doing Attic24’s Mandala Challenge? I want to make a few to send over to the UK for Yarndale. I am definitely inspired to decorate my own walls with colorful mandalas. x

Leave a Reply

